Listen! presents...

Mark Lockheart



Dreamers is the new project from saxophonist and composer Mark Lockheart featuring Elliot Galvin, Tom Herbert and Dave Smith.


As a founding member of Loose Tubes and Polar Bear, Mark Lockheart has often remained ahead of the curve and has constantly explored new directions in his own music. Dreamers continues that evolution allowing the music to speak beyond the boundaries of genre.


Mark's multifaceted outlook on music is explored through a new, stylisically free set of original compositions with this bold and unique sounding group. Expect urgent, exciting grooves and textures all cleverly crafted together within Mark's memorable melodies. There's a wide range of influences here, from Duke Ellington and Wayne Shorter to John Zorn, the Beatles and Kraftwerk.


As Mark explains: "I wanted this music to be unfussy and direct, but also unpredictable and surprising. The grooves, the sonics and the musical character of each piece are hugely important and the process led me into a new sound world that's very different from anything I'd done before."


"The three musicians in this group have been cunningly intuitive about how I wanted the music interpreted and I love how everyone plays in this band. Elliot's wonderful sonic palette, Tom's deep rooted bass playing and Dave's incredible groove and spirit, hold the music high and gives each piece its identity and character."


Dreamers will be released on Edition Records on 28th January 2022.


Visit Mark Lockheart's website here



Mark Lockheart ~ saxophones

Elliot Galvin ~ keyboards

Tom Herbert ~ bass guitar

Dave Smith ~ drums


Tuesday 22nd February 2022

Unitarian Church, 5 Emmanuel Road, Cambridge CB1 1JW

Doors 7.30pm / music 8pm

£15 (+ booking fee)

No bar this evening , but you're welcome to bring your own drinks and glasses.